Servers

Home / Support / Documentation
From WHMCS Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Adding a New Server

Watch Video Tutorial


You can add new servers by going to Setup > Servers and selecting Add New Server. All fields are optional but you should at least enter a name and IP for each server you add:

  • Name - should be unique to allow you to identify this server
  • Hostname - this is the primary domain of the server - used to link to the server by certain modules
  • IP Address - this is the primary IP address of the server - used to connect to it
  • Assigned IP Addresses - List the IP Addresses assigned to the server here, these are used in conjunction with Utilities > Domain Resolver to check which domains in WHMCS are pointing to your server.
  • Monthly Cost - optional field - used in reports to calculate profit if entered
  • Datacenter/NOC - optional field - used only for you to remember where the server is located
  • Maximum No. of Accounts - a value used to work out the percentage usage of the server (must be entered, can be very large)
  • Primary/Secondary/Tertiary/Quaternary Nameservers - these are the nameservers for this server, eg. ns1.yourdomain.com and ns2.yourdomain.com - used in welcome email and when registering domains
  • Primary/Secondary/Tertiary/Quaternary Nameserver IPs - these are the ips for each of the nameservers, can be used in emails
  • Server Type, Username, Access Hash and Password - should be the login (root/reseller) details for your server (Or Username/Access Hash for cPanel/WHM Servers)
  • Server Status URL - This is the url to the status folder. See Status Monitoring below.

Status Monitoring

Watch Video Tutorial


Status monitoring allows you to view the load and uptime for each of your linux based servers from within the WHMCS client/admin area.

To enable this, you must upload the status folder supplied in the WHMCS zip file download to each of your servers. And then enter the URL to that folder into the server setup Server Status URL field.

You can leave the field blank, which simply disables monitoring for that server.

PHP Info output is disabled by default for security reasons so if you would like to enable it, you simply need to uncomment the line "#phpinfo();" (remove the #) within the index.php file.

Deleting a Server

  • To delete a server, go to Setup > Servers and then click the red X icon on the same row as the server you wish to delete
  • If it is allowed to be deleted you'll get a confirmation popup confirming you want to delete it and once you click Ok it will be removed
  • You cannot delete a server while there are any accounts assigned to it. This includes terminated and cancelled accounts.

Status

Not to be confused with Status Monitoring above. Servers can have one of two statuses; enabled and disabled denoted by a green tick or grey cross respectively. During normal operations a server would be active, however should you decide to mothball an old server and disconnect it the status should be changed to disabled.

Disabling a server removes it from the daily usage statistics update (which could fail if a disconnected server was listed as active) and moves it to the bottom of all server dropdown menus.

To change the status of a server navigate to Setup > Servers and click the status icon to toggle to the other status (ie. Clicking the green tick icon of an active server would deactivate it).

Server Groups

Server groups allow you to configure servers into sets where products can then be assigned automatically based on your requirements & provisioning settings. For example you may want shared accounts on certain servers, and resellers on others, with accounts being distributed evenly between all the servers you have. Server groups makes this possible.

Creating a Group

  1. Begin by going to Setup > Products/Services > Servers
  2. Next click Create New Group under the Options heading
  3. On the screen that appears, enter a name for your group
  4. Next choose whether to assign new orders to the least full server or fill the default server until it reaches the number of accounts limit you've set for it and then move to the next least used.
  5. Finally, select the servers you want to assign to this group in the box on the left and click Add to move them to the box on the right which contains the servers for this group.
    NOTE: If you only assign one server to a group select the Add to the least full server fill option.
  6. Then click Save Changes to complete the process

Assigning Products to a Group

  1. To assign a product to a group, begin by locating the product in the Products & Services configuration area, then click the edit icon for it
  2. Next click onto the Module Settings tab
  3. There you will see a dropdown labelled Server Group.
    1. By default this will be set to None in which case the product is assigned to the default server for that module.
    2. However, you can select a group there by choosing it from the dropdown and saving.

Editing/Deleting a Group

  1. When editing a group you get exactly the same interface & options as when you create one.
  2. Servers can be added or removed from a group at any time.
  3. The maximum number of accounts to assign to a server is set on a per server basis when editing the setup of the individual server