Remember Me Session Ended

Problem

An admin selected Remember Me on the Admin Area login page. Later, the system prompted them to log in again, even though they did not manually log out.

If you experience other unexpected logouts, see Frequent Logouts instead.

Cause

This usually does not indicate a problem. A remembered session ends for one of the following reasons:

  • It reached its 30-day lifetime.
  • The admin already had five remembered devices and signed in with Remember Me on a sixth device. Signing in on a sixth device ends the oldest remembered session.
  • The admin logged out on that specific device.
  • The admin logged in without selecting Remember Me on that specific device.
  • The admin’s password changed, which ends the remembered session on every device.
  • The admin’s IP address or browser changed significantly since the creation of the remembered session. By default, remembered sessions use the device’s IP address and browser context. Connections with changing IP addresses, such as mobile networks or VPNs, or switching browsers can end remembered sessions.
    For more information, see Frequent Logouts.
  • The admin’s account is disabled, which ends that admin’s remembered sessions on every device.
  • The encryption hash rotated, which ends all admins’ remembered sessions. This is a rare, advanced configuration change.
For more information, see Log In to the Admin Area.

Solution

Log in again and, optionally, select Remember Me to start a new remembered session.

If none of the above apply, someone else may have access to your credentials. Change your password and review the Activity Log and Admin Log for sessions you do not recognize.

Last modified: 2026 September 30