Hiding and Retiring Products

From WHMCS Documentation

Introduction

Hiding and retiring products can be used when products are no longer offered, or when products should only be available when a direct link to the product is available.

Also applies to product addons - the same options appear in the same place when editing a product addon.

Hiding a Product

When to Use It

When a product is hidden, this will stop it from appearing on the order pages in the client area. If a user has a direct link to the product, it can still be purchased. Hidden products should be used when an admin still wishes to sell the product, but only to those with a direct link, or from the Admin area.

How to set it

When editing the product, check the hidden box on the details tab to set the product as hidden.

Retiring

When to Use It

A retired product will stop any new orders for the product from the admin and client areas. Existing products will not be affected, although if the product is changed from a retired product, it cannot be changed back. A retired product can still be ordered via the API.

How to set it

When editing the product, check the retired box on the details tab to set the product as retired.