Other Tab

From WHMCS Documentation



Marketing Emails

This setting controls the opt-in/opt-out functionality for Marketing e-mails, such as those sent by the mass mail tool. When enabled, a Newsletter Opt-In option is shown to new customers during checkout or registration. The default is Enabled.

Require User Opt-In

Enable this to require clients to explicit opt-in before they will receive marketing labelled e-mails. By default, users are required to opt-in to marketing emails. If you wish, you can use this setting to default the opt-in box to a checked status, requiring users instead to opt-out of marketing emails.

Marketing Email Opt-In Messaging

The message that will be displayed to clients on the client area if "Marketing Emails" is enabled and they are being asked to opt-in. Allows you to customise the message displayed to users in the opt-in request. It is important that the opt-in message accurately reflects the type of marketing emails you will be sending for compliance reasons.

Admin Client Display Format

Choose the format that your customer's names appear in throughout the admin. For example it may be desirable to display the company name instead of the contact's name.

Client Dropdown Format

Choose the format that your customer’s names appear in the client dropdown throughout the admin.

Disable Full Client Dropdown

Check this option to remove the aforementioned client dropdown. This is used on large databases where the number of clients slows down the loading of pages.

Deprecated: This option has been removed in WHMCS 6.2 and later. Improvements to the client menu rendering mean this is no longer required for larger installs.

Default to Client Area

Normally when clients and visitors visit your WHMCS installation they are presented with the homepage listing the various pages; client area, submit ticket, view tickets, place order etc. Ticking this option skips this page and takes visitors directly to the client area prompting them to login.

Allow Client Registration

When enabled customers can sign up at /registration.php without ordering a product or service.

Optional Client Profile Fields

The checkboxes ticked here will be optional on the registration and order forms. For example ticking the Phone Number field will mean clients can complete the order process without providing a phone number. Certain modules, particularly domain registrars, may require all the client profile information to function.

Locked Client Profile Fields

When ticked your clients will not be able to update this piece of their contact information via the client area, they will need to contact you to update it. They will be able to view the information, but it will appear as text and not an input field.

Client Details Change Notify

Enabling this option will send an email notification to all admins when a customer changes their contact details.

Marketing Opt-out

When this option is enabled clients will see an option to opt-out of marketing emails on the My Details page of the client area. When composing a mass mail or creating an email marketer rule you will see a "Marketing Email?" checkbox - tick this checkbox so users who have opted-out do not receive this message.

Show Cancellation Link

Enabling will activate the cancellation system. Customers can request cancellation from the product details page, they then appear in Clients > Cancellation Requests along with an email notification and will be processed automatically when the cron runs. For more information refer to this page.

Monthly Affiliate Reports

Sends a monthly report email containing the status of the customer’s affiliate account when active.

Banned Subdomain Prefixes

This setting is used to prevent orders being placed using any of the subdomains listed within the field for products with the free subdomain option enabled. Add new subdomains to block in a comma separated list.

For example the default values will block users from placing orders using a subdomain such as ftp.yourdomain.com.

Encoded File Loading

When loading custom PHP assets such as hooks or widgets WHMCS will perform static analysis on ionCube encoded files. If the encoded file is evaluated as either unknown or incompatible with the environment then the file will not be loaded as normal. You may disable this feature if you have custom files that you are certain are compatible with your environment but are negatively evaluated by the static analyzer.

When this feature is enabled, any files not loaded are noted in either the activity log or the hook log.

This option can be overridden from within the configuration.php file by defining it along with a value of either true (for enabled) or false (for disabled) to the variable $enable_safe_include.

// You can define this setting to override the UI selected option
$enable_safe_include = false;

Display Errors

If at any time you encounter a blank page or Oops! error page in the WHMCS system, ensure display_errors is enabled in the server's PHP configuration, and enable this option. An error should be displayed on-screen to aid troubleshooting.

For guidance resolving such errors, refer to the Troubleshooting Guide. For technical information refer to Error Management.

Log Errors

When enabled, this option logs PHP errors to the Activity Log with any errors that may occur in your WHMCS installation. This is a good feature if you do not want to show sensitive path information on public-facing pages.

For technical information refer to Error Management.


NOTE: Enabling this option will result in a number of activity log entries, so should be used sparingly and only when debugging PHP errors. It should then be promptly switched off.

SQL Debug Mode

This option should remain unticked unless specifically instructed to change it by WHMCS support staff. When enabled any database-related errors will be recorded in the Utilities > Logs > Activity Log.

For technical information refer to Error Management.

Hooks Debug Mode

In order to troubleshoot problems with action hooks it may be necessary to log action hook activity, ticking this option will do so to Utilities > Logs > Activity Log.

NOTE: Enabling this option will result in a large number of activity log entries, so should be used sparingly and only when debugging hook problems. It should then be promptly switched off.