Users Tab

Users can own multiple client accounts, allowing a single user to switch between accounts and manage each separately.

You can access this tab when you view a client’s profile at Clients > View/Search Clients.

Disable Client Area User Management in the Other tab at Configuration () > System Settings > General Settings disables user management in the Client Area and prevents clients from inviting new users.
For more information, see Users and Accounts.

Associate a User

You can associate a user with a client by sending an invitation to the user’s email address. If they are already a user, they can log in to the Client Area as their newly-associated client using their existing login credentials. If the email address does not correspond to an existing user, they can create one.

You can add new users in this tab or in the Client Area. For steps for both methods, see Add and Associate Users.

After you add or associate a user, they will display in the list of users.

  • Click Resend Invite to resend the invitation email.
  • Click Cancel Invite to cancel the invitation.

Manage

Click Manage to manage the user within the context of this client.

To manage individual user information outside of the context of an associated account, go to Clients > Manage Users.

Manage Users

Click Manage User to update the user’s name, email address, permissions, or security questions, to disable Two-Factor Authentication or to transfer account ownership to the user. Disabling security questions for the user removes their current security question and answer and allows them to set a new one in the Client Area.

Reset a User Password

To reset a user’s password, click the arrow next to Manage User and select Password Reset. Click OK on the confirmation window that appears and the system will send a password reset email to the user.

Revoke Access

To revoke a user’s access to a client, click the arrow next to Manage User and select Remove. This will remove the user’s access to the client but will not delete the user from WHMCS.

Last modified: May 31, 2024