Automated Upgrades and Downgrades

From WHMCS Documentation

Revision as of 07:53, 18 July 2017 by Chance (talk | contribs) (Clients Self Service)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)

How it works

With the automated upgrading & downgrading features in WHMCS, your clients can upgrade or downgrade the products and packages they have with you from the client area. When they place an upgrade or downgrade order, they will be refunded what they haven't used of the current cycle on the existing product/service and then charged for the remainder of the cycle at the new product/services price. The next due date doesn't change.

Old Product/Service
Price Per Day * Number of days until next due date = Amount Credited

New Product/Service
Price Per Day * Number of days until next due date = Amount Debited

Total Payable Today = Amount Debited - Amount Credited

Free to Paid Products

When a free product is upgraded to a paid product a Next Due Date needs to be set to determine when it will renew. WHMCS sets this automatically to 1 billing cycle from the date of upgrade.

EG. If a client upgraded from a free product to a monthly paid product on 1st Jan, the Next Due Date would be set to 1st Feb.

Promotion Codes

Upgrade Discounts

Promotion codes can be configured to apply to upgrades, this is useful for incentivizing clients to upgrade to higher tier products. When the client places an upgrade order they will be given the opportunity to enter a promo code. The discount is calculated based on the total amount due. This is given as a discount on the amount payable today.

Total Payable Today (from above) - Discount = Discounted Upgrade Price

Lifetime Promotions

Promotion codes can be configured to last the lifetime of a client's service - even sustained through upgrades and downgrades. If this is the case, the recurring discount is calculated based on the full product price after the upgrade has completed. The full product price is obtained and then the discount calculated based on that. The recurring price is reduced accordingly and then updated on the client's service.

Clients Self Service

In order to place an upgrade/downgrade order, the client has to login to the client area, navigate to the Services >> My Services section, click into view the full details for the product or service they wish to manage, and then select the options to either upgrade the Package or upgrade the Configurable Options.

Admin/Staff Upgrades

Staff can also create upgrade orders from the admin area. Staff are not restricted to just the products or options that are defined in the product config, so any single package can be upgraded to any other. Using the upgrade process will create the prorata invoice for the difference, and then auto provision it upon payment. To create an upgrade order from the admin side, simply navigate to the service that is to be upgraded and then click the "Upgrade/Downgrade" button displayed to the top right of the product details tab.

Configuration

Product Upgrades

In order to allow clients to upgrade and downgrade their package, you need to specify exactly which products can be upgraded and downgraded to from each of your packages. This is done in Setup > Products/Services > Products/Services on the Upgrades tab of the product configuration.

To select multiple products that can upgraded/downgraded to, hold the Ctrl key while selecting the products in the list.

Configurable Options Upgrades

With the configurable options upgrade configuration, this allows your clients to upgrade or downgrade the configurable option selections you offer on the product. You do not need to specify any further configuration for this - by simply ticking the box the upgrade options will be shown to the client in the client area. The upgrade price for configurable options are calculated in exactly the same was products described above.