Hide or Retire Products

Hiding and retiring products and product addons is useful when you have stopped offering the item for sale or when you only want to sell them using a direct link.

Hiding

When you hide a product or product addon, the system will not display it on order pages in the Client Area. However, if a user has a direct link to the product or product addon’s page in your store, they can still purchase it. Admins can also still place orders for hidden products in the Admin Area.

To hide a product or product addon:

  1. Edit the desired item:
    • For products, edit the product at Configuration () > System Settings > Products/Services.
    • For product addons, edit the product addon at Configuration () > System Settings > Product Addons.
  2. Check Hidden in the Details tab.
  3. Save the product.

Retiring

When you retire a product or product addon, the system will prevent all new orders from both the Client Area and Admin Area. New orders will only be possible through the WHMCS API.

  • Retiring products and product addons does not affect existing services.
  • After you retire a product or product addon, you cannot change it back.

To retire a product or product addon:

  1. Edit the desired item:
    • For products, edit the product at Configuration () > System Settings > Products/Services.
    • For product addons, edit the product addon at Configuration () > System Settings > Product Addons.
  2. Check Retired in the Details tab.
  3. Save the product.

Last modified: June 5, 2024